Adilabad is a town and a municipality in Adilabad district in the state of Andhra Pradesh, India. It has a population of 108,233 (agglomeration 2,58,233) (2006 census). It is the headquarters of the district of the same name.


Adilabad derives its name from the erstwhile ruler of Bijapur, Adil Shah. It was created out of a sub-district named Sirpur-Tandur in 1905.

Historically, Adilabad has been home to a variety of cultures. Owing to its position at the border of central and southern India, it has been ruled by North Indian dynasties like the Mughals and the Mauryas and South Indian dynasties like the Satavahanas and the Chalukyas. The current culture of the district incorporates significant elements of the neighboring Marathi culture into the native Telugu culture.


Adilabad is located at 19.67° N 78.53° E. It has an average elevation of 264 metres (866 feet).

Rail Transport

Adilabad is a railway station on Mudkhed-Adilabad Meter Gauge Section of Hyderabad(HYB) Division of South Central Railway(SCR). After Divisional adjustments in 2003, which saw the bifurcation of Hyderabad Division, Adilabad now comes under Nanded(NED) Division of SCR. The Mudkhed-Adilabad Meter Gauge Section has since been converted into Broad Gauge.


As of 2001 India census, Adilabad had a population of 108,233. Males constitute 51% of the population and females 49%. Adilabad has an average literacy rate of 65%, higher than the national average of 59.5%; with 57% of the males and 43% of females literate. 14% of the population is under 6 years of age.reached to a non child labour position the district with the help of s.s.a programe

Parliamentary Constituency

Adilabad is a Lok Sabha Constituency.

List of Elected Members

1957 - K. Ashanna
1962 - Narayan G Reddy
1967 and 1971 - P. Ganga Reddy
1977 and 1980 - G. Narsimha Reddy
1984 - C. Madhava Reddi
1989 - P. Narsa Reddy
1991 - Allola Indrakaran Reddy
1996, 1998 and 1999 - Dr. Samudrala Venugopal Chary
2004 - Madhusudhan Reddy takkala
2008 - Allola Indrakaran Reddy

Assembly Constituency

Adilabad is an assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh. There are 1,81,966 registered voters in Adilabad constituency in 1999 elections.

List of Elected Members

1952-Sirga Daji Shankar Rao(CPI party)
1983 and 1994 - Chilukuri Vaman Reddy
1999 - Padala Bhumanna
1978, 1985, 1989 and 2004 - Chilukuri Ramachandra Reddy