About Anakapalle

The town of Anakapalle is very famous for its jaggery market. Its market is ranked second in India in terms of jaggery imports/exports. Anakapalle is also a very busy and famous business center in this region. Many people from the rural areas around the town cites Anakapalle as their destination for shopping and medical needs.


The town was originally under the rule of the Kalinga Empire, and later came under the rule of the Gajapati, Kakatiya, and Qutb Shahi empires. Around 1450, Appala Raju took over the rule of region under the Nawab of Arcot, with Anakapalle as his fortified headquarters. During the Independence struggle of India, many prominent leaders like Mahatma Gandhi visited Anakapalle.


Anakapalle is located on the banks of River Sarada at 17.68° N 83.02° E. It has an average elevation of 26 metres (85 feet).


Appalaraju built a temple to Kakatambika, a family goddess; later rules would rename the goddess Nookambika, or Nookalamma. The temple exists to this day, now controlled by the Endowments Department, a controversial government bureau that manages many Hindu temples. On “Kottha Amavasya,” a day before to UgaadiNew Year’s Eve, thousands of people from Andhra Pradesh come to the temple to worship. [1]
Another famous & important temple is Gauramma Gudi(the temple of Gauri) where every year in the last week of January People celebrates "Sambaram" a celebration lasts for 10 days.
Anakapalle is also known for the nearby ruins of a Buddhist temple known as Bojjannakonda, or Sankaram. Thousands of old Buddhist monuments can be seen. It is sad that Archaeological department doesn't take much care of it these days.

Sathyanarayana Swami temple is situated on the top of a small hill at Kasimkota about 2kM from Anakapalli. It is a pleasant place to visit.

Devipuram has a famous temple of Sri Rajarajeshwari Temple is 12 km from this town. This temple has the specialty of being world's largest and only temple in the structure of Sri Chakra.

Most of the population of Anakapalle is Hindu, and thus it has quite a number of Hindu temples.As well its having other religious worship places like Maseedu(Mosque) in Maseed street and couple of Churches on Pudimadaka Road The popular temples are

Gowri Parameswara temple
Peda Ramaswami temple
China Ramaswami temple
Venkateswara temple
Santoshimatha temple
Kanayaka parameswari Temple
Kaasi Viswanatha Temple
Bhogalingeswara Temple
venkateswara swamy temple(gandhinagaram)

Educational Institutes

A.M.A.L. College
Adinarayana Mahila Kalasala
Dadi Veeru Naidu Degree College
Konathala College of Arts & Science
Himasekhar Degree and PG college
Sai Kulvanth Inter and Degree college
Dadi Institute of Engineering and Technology(DIET)
Sarvepalli RadhaKrishnan Junior college
Samyuktha Degree college
Samyuktha Junior College

A.M.A.A.English Medium High School
Municipal Gavarapalem High School
Municipal High school
Municipal girls high school
Samyuktha High School
D.A.V. Public School
Diamonds Convent
Good Shepherd English Medium High School
Dr MVVSatyanarayana Memorial Gurajada Public School
J.M.J. High School
Prasanthi Nikethan
Boddeda Gangadhar International School Of Interactive Learning
J.L. English Medium School
Bhashyam Public School
K.A.G. English Medium School
S.V.N. Public School
City Public School


The chief crop cultivated in the region is sugarcane, and Anakapalle is well known for its jaggery industry. It is the largest source of jaggery for southern India, and the second largest for all of India. Velagapudi Steels also owns a steel mill near Anakapalle. A sugar factory is situated at Thummapala, 2 km away known as Anakapalli Co-op. sugars ltd.,


The Area Hospital, Andhra Pradesh Vaidya Vidhana Parishad is located in Anakapalle. It has bed strength of 100 in-patients.

Parliamentary Constituency

Anakapalle is a parliamentary constituency in India.

List of Members of Parliament

1952 Lanka Sundaram and Mallu Dora
1957,1962 and 1967 - Missula Surya Naraya Murthy.
1971, 1977 and 1980 - S.R.A.S. Applanaidu
1984 - P. Appala Narasimham
1989 and 1991 - Konathala Rama Krishna
1996 - Chintakayala Ayyanna Patrudu
1998 - Gudivada Gurunadha Rao
1999 - Ganta Srinivasa Rao
2004 - Pappala Chalapathi Rao
List of Rajya Sabha Members:

1953-62 - Villuri Venkata Ramana

Assembly Constituency
Anakapalle is an assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

List of Members of Legislative Assembly

1955 - Beesetti Appa Rao
1951 and 1978 - Koduganti Govinda Rao
1983 - Raja Kanna Babu
1985, 1989, 1994 and 1999 - Dadi Veerabhadra Rao
2004 - Konathala Ramakrishna

Other places to visit near by
The nearest beaches are in Pudimadaka and Mutyalammapalem. They are famous for their sparkling waters. Yetikoppaka is famous for its lacquer artifacts. The famous Vizag Steel plant and Simhadri Power plants are at a distance of approximatrely 15 km.