City : Bongaigaon
Location : Northeast India
Language : Assamese, Bodo, Bengali (Barak Valley)

Know About Bongaigaon

Bongaigaon is the district headquarters of Bongaigaon District, Assam, India. It has two parts - Old Bongaigaon and New Bongaigaon. Bongaigaon is Pre dominantly and inhibated by the Koch Rajbongshi Community which is a part of "Bijni Kingdom" ruled by Rajbongshi Kings, and Recently it was divided and a new district Chirang was formed, to meet the demands of Bodos of Assam. It has a major petrochemical industry, the Bongaigaon Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited .


Creation of Bongaigaon :The decision of the Government of Assam in 1989, to create a new District of Bongaigaon curving out some areas of the Goalpara and Kokrajhar District with its headquarter located at Bongaigaon. On 29th September, 1989, the creation of Bongaigaon District was declared by the Government of Assam with its headquarter at Bongaigaon.

The original Goalpara district was first created in 1822 A.D. by David Scott- an employee of East India Company, who was the first Commissioner of newly created North East Rangpur district Hd. Qr. at Rangpur town (now in Bangla Desh) and newly created Goalpara district was also tagged with North-East Rangpur district for administration. The erstwhile Bijni Kingdom's area which included the undivided Garo Hills district area also constituted the original Goalpara district area in 1822.

In 1866 Garo Hills was separated from Goalpara district area and in the same year a new district named "Greater Koch Behar" was created and the residual portion of Goalpara district was withdrawn from Rangpur and tagged with Koch Behar. In 1874 a new province named Assam Valley Province was created by British Govt. (Successor of East India Company) and Goalpara district area was withdrawn from Koch Behar and tagged with Assam Province which continues till today unless petty political gambling disturbs. Now the original Goalpara district has given birth of four districts namely (i) Goalpara (ii) Dhubri (iii) Kokrajhar and (iv) Bongaigaon.


Religious Fact

From the chequered historical background of this district, it can easily be surmised that the entire area was ruled by Kings/Zaminders/Feudal Lords hailing from the Koch-Rajbongshies belonging to Indo-Mongoloid ethnic group of peoples right from 15th century to the end of princely states in 1956 A.D. The kings of this area had their hoary past and can be traced back to the "Kiratees" of epic age (Mahabharata fame) that is pre-vedic age. These Kiratees of dimpast are also mentioned in Kalika Puran and Jogingi Tantra and also in histories written both by native and foreign schoolers.


Cave Temple ( Jogighopa)
Bagheswari Temple ( Bagheswari Hill, Bongaigaon Town)
Bishnupur Shankardeva Shatra ( Bishnupur, Abhayapuri)
Ganesh Mandir Ruins ( Khagrapar Hill, Abhayapuri )
KakoiJana Reserved Forest ( For Golden Langur and Birds)
Lalmati-Duramari Ganesh Mandir
Rock-Cut Cave